Daily Archives: January 13th, 2013

Survivor: Abyss Island – Day 1 Recap

abyss-islandSurvivor Day 1: “It Consumes The Nourishment Or It Gets The Hose.”

My idea was a simple one: Eat like a Survivor for 39 days and get a wee taste of what the food situation is like on the hit TV show.

I’m halfway through Day 2 and I can tell you this: Yowza! This is no small thing.

My food yesterday consisted of rice, kidney beans, raw coconut and banana. With no salt. (That’s a biggie.) And I fell 500 calories short of my 1,500 calories per day goal.

But that wasn’t the worst of it.

I made the classic Survivor blunder. I neglected the social game.

In other words, I had no idea what my wife had lying in wait. The Host with the Most has turned my little experiment into something bigger than I expected.

I’m afraid.
Continue reading →