I’ll eat my candy with the pork and beans

YouTube wouldn't let me embed and all I got was this stupid tshirtWelcome to this shiny new blog. It’s time to get things going. What’s the lamest and fasted way to chalk up an easy DING! for a blog post? Yep, jam on a YouTube video!

In this case, though, the video I wanted to share has embedding disabled, so I can only provide this sad, solitary, lonely link:

YouTube: Weezer – Pork and Beans

This has got to be one of the coolest songs and coolest videos of all time. So let’s start this blog off right with a lively tune and an entertaining video. It humorously features some of the most famous moments from viral video history.

Oops. I forgot. You probably just clicked that link and aren’t here anymore. Lame. Oh well. I’ll just go on talking to myself.

The song rails against conformity, which is always a theme that resonates with me. I have absolutely no idea what eating candy with pork and beans means, though. The songwriter came up with the song apparently as a mini-protest against Geffen executives who angered him by demanding a more commercial record from Weezer. (This is the same group that did the Happy Days video for the song Buddy Holly that came on the original Windows 95 installation CD-ROM.)

I don’t plan to take the cheap way out and post YouTube videos too often, but I like this song and I thought it would be a nice way to cheat a blog post right out of the gate. In the future I’ll be attempting to blog on a semi-regular basis on a wide variety of topics of interest.

Credit shouts: Tshirt image generated using the Custom TShirt Generator.

6 responses

  1. […] blog was officially launched on 09/24/2009 with a post about eating my candy with pork and beans. By my calculations it took 192.5 days to acheive the 10k mark, which works out to be about 52.0 […]

    Like

  2. […] thing started back on September 24, 2009. I launched the blog with a post about the song “Pork and Beans” by Weezer. (Such an awesome song!) That post included one of my memes right of the bat: the […]

    Like

  3. If I’d only known you like pork & beans as much as I do I’d have been here sooner. I gots me some reading to do.

    Like

    1. Ah, thanks. You know, this blog isn’t exactly my first rodeo. I briefly had another but I stupidly outed myself and voided my carefully crafted house of cards designed to protect my anonymity. So that blog was NUKED and from the rubble the Abyss was born.

      Like

  4. I have noticed you don’t monetize your page, don’t waste your traffic, you
    can earn extra bucks every month because you’ve got high quality content.
    If you want to know how to make extra $$$, search for: best adsense alternative Wrastain’s
    tools

    Like

  5. I have noticed that your website needs some fresh articles.
    Writing manually takes a lot of time, but there is tool for this boring task, search for: unlimited content
    Wrastain’s tools

    Like

Bringeth forth thy pith and vinegar