Daily Archives: August 19th, 2012

Royally Flushed

Last night was the Texas Hold’em home game. I will now regale some highlights of the evening.

I don’t like to brag, of course, but I seem to have been constructed for the purpose of playing poker. A coworker from a job 12 years ago once told me I had the “shifty eye.” I took that as a compliment. I also love maths and probabilities.

The other good thing about poker is that it is the only sport that I can watch on TV and go out and replicate myself. I use the word “sport” loosely but it must be true since they show it on ESPN.

I don’t like to brag or anything, but I rule the home game. I’ve placed in the money something like eight times in a row. That isn’t chance or luck. It’s skill.

“In the money” is nice but the #1 spot itself has proven elusive. I think I’ve only claimed that title a single time in the home game.

Last night I was on a mission. And the poker gods themselves were looking down to enforce some poker karma.

Pokerize ’em!
Continue reading →