Fantastical, farcical fables of fetal fatality freedoms

This is my neighbor Joe. He's not too good at poker. He went all-in with 7-2 offsuit.

This post was once just a twinkle in my eye. Then I conceived a subject, a germane approach fertilized, and, long story short, this post was birthed nine minutes later.

WordPress was the midwife.

Of course, in my dictionary, “fertilize” generally means “throw poop on it,” but hopefully you still get the idea.

“Daddy, where do babies come from?”

“Good question. But, technically speaking, there is no such thing as a ‘baby.’ You see, son, the North Carolina House of Representatives tells us that at the exact moment of fertilization a ‘human being’ has been created.”

“Ferthil-a-shay-shun?”

[laughing] “Yes, son. Fertilization. That’s just a fancy word for mommy and daddy getting together, each of them adding a special ingredient, and making a new person. Like you! You know how chocolate and peanut butter got together to make a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup? It’s a lot like that.”

“Gross!”

Indeed, Timmy. Indeed.

Freedom. In America, seemingly above all else, we prize our cherished freedom. And rightly so. But probably at the very moment pilgrims landed in this country, they did something peculiar. They started making laws to control the freedoms of each other.

“There are nine of us and one of you. We voted and decided that thing you do is now prohibited.” Ah, democracy.

Our history is replete with this sort of thing. Freedoms legislated away like oral sex, anal sex, “sodomy,” adultery, nudity, women owning property, women being allowed to vote, black people being free persons, black people being allowed to vote, black people owning guns, etc.

A quintessential example of this? In the original version of the Constitution of the United States, you only had to read four short paragraphs before encountering racism.

Representatives and direct Taxes shall be apportioned among the several States which may be included within this Union, according to their respective Numbers, which shall be determined by adding to the whole Number of free Persons, including those bound to Service for a Term of Years, and excluding Indians not taxed, three fifths of all other Persons.

Thankfully that sentence was modified by the 14th Amendment.

So anyway, this sort of thing is nothing new.

On my morning commute, I sometimes like to listen to religious programming. There’s a morning talk show, I don’t know the name, where I’ll sometimes pause. (That same station at night is more fire and brimstone and doesn’t hold the same sway.)

This week they were talking about how “life begins at conception” and the fight they hope to bring to the Supreme Court. They talked about how an effort was underway in North Carolina to legally say that a human being exists at the moment of conception. They also said that if you had an opinion different than that you were “anti-life.”

You know, some people don’t like to be called “homophobes” just because they take a position against homosexuality. Yet here we have religious folk flinging the “anti-life” label simply because you disagree with them on what is, in all actuality, a very very fine point. I find that a skosh hypocritical.

The proposed North Carolina law that was passed by their House of Representatives takes a quite reasonable position. It would criminalize “death or injury” of a “fetus” at “any” stage of development. Take the morning after pill? You’re guilty of murder, pal. You just killed a “human being.”

That’s not farcical at all, is it?

Kill a sperm? That’s okay. Kill an ovum? Still okay. But at the very moment those two things are joined to form a zygote a “human being” now exists and “killing” is off the table.

Curious, and being a fan of Texas Holdem, I invited a few zygotes to my house the other night for a poker game. Aside from a weird tendency to go “all-in” too often, I found them decent human beings, although, to be honest, they were extremely boring and completely lacking in personality and the social graces.

I understand abortion is a serious issue. In fact, my opinion on the issue has changed somewhat radically over the years. It has become much more conservative over time. When I was young and stupid I was pretty cavalier about it. Now that I’m old and stupid, my standards have changed dramatically.

I can’t define my position exactly, but let’s just say that I support a woman’s right to choose. It’s her body and her choice. But, in my opinion, that moment of choice is extremely narrow.

Clearly it is wrong to kill a newborn baby. Just as clearly, in my view, a “human being” is not created at the moment of conception.

Somewhere, between those two extremes, lies the real moment when a human life comes into being. I have no idea when that moment might be. Perhaps it’s a heart beat. Perhaps it’s brainwaves. Perhaps it’s a fingerprint. I really don’t know, nor do I know if anyone really knows.

Something tells me it might have something to do with the ability to feel and, perhaps, experience pain. Not hurting others is a big part of my philosophy so that resonates with me. A zygote can’t feel pain. But somewhere in the development of a fetus that ability does exist.

That’s why I believe we should err on the side of caution. Make abortion laws have a tight window. Very tight. But criminalizing abortion all the way to the moment of conception? I believe that is wrong. It impinges on the freedom of the individual in favor of a human being that doesn’t yet exist.

Debate on fiercely contested issues isn’t always a logical thing. You ask for the moon. I’ll ask for the stars. Neither side will get what they ask, so invariably we end up somewhere in the middle. I believe that trying to criminalize abortion all the way to the moment of conception is a tactic. One that is designed to move where that eventual compromise will exist.

We should intelligently debate this issue. And we should fight to make reasonable laws that are based on common sense. Not go after illogical extremes as political strategies.

This is my “F” post for the April 2011 “A to Z Blogging Challenge.”

11 responses

  1. You write so well and with such intelligence and humour that it is a pleasure to read your blog. Intelligent debate really is the only way to go on so many issues but so many people can’t help but get into muckraking mode straight away. It just means that nothing much ever gets done. Such a shame.

    This is an excellent post!

    Like

    1. Ah, thanks. You are way too kind. I wish I had the artistic skill to draw zygotes playing poker. Maybe some day later in my development I’ll be able to do things like that if and when I become a human being.

      Like

  2. Interesting. I have to say I agree with you. I am pro choice but like you said there should be a narrow window of time to which this choice must be made. The North Carolina law is just ridiculous in my opinion.
    Great Post!

    Like

    1. I’ve been thinking it over and I realized I made a mistake. The NC House of Representatives voted on March 25, 2011, but it’s not a law yet. It still has to pass the Senate where passage is expected. If signed by the governor, it could be law within a month or so.

      Also, the proposed law is meant to address homicides and such. If a pregnant woman is killed, the killer can be charged with two murders, all the way up to the moment of conception, even if know one, including the mother, was even aware she was pregnant.

      However, proposed the law doesn’t prohibit legal abortions. It’s just a tiny step towards a legal definition that a zygote is a “human being.”

      The mistake I made? I think they should go even further. For example, it should be against the law for me to walk down the street and pass a pretty woman without having sex with her. After all, that’s a potential human being that could have existed.

      Yes, I think I’d support that law.

      Like

  3. If we could get some REAL science into this argument and leave all the religious moralizing out of it, then maybe a compromise could be reached. Maybe.

    Like

    1. Science is good. I think it can help us but not totally answer this sort of question. It’s a good starting point for reasonable discussion. Then we can still err on the side of caution. There is never any harm in doing that.

      I should add that I view the life of the mother as paramount above all else. Personally I wouldn’t want anyone I loved ever getting pregnant. You can die from that sort of thing.

      Like

  4. I’m pro-compassion but still okay to say now that I’m almost 40, sure. Call me anti-life. The people who do so, let’s face it, I’d be happier if they weren’t alive.

    I’m not saying shoot them, I’m just saying when they drop dead, it won’t affect me.

    Speaking of which, I have an aunt who is evil incarnate–really. No details are necessary apart from being a child of SEVERE abuse? She’s the more evil person I know and she never laid a hand on me. She makes it her job to ruin lives–most people who harm are just fucked up themselves.

    Anyway, she’s finally declining and I hope that I’ll never feel guilty and eagerly awaiting her exit.

    Like

    1. Labels can be detriments to serious and meaningful discussions. Especially ones like “anti-life” and “homophobe.” Not everyone who holds a certain opinion is justified for the label. It is possible for it to be merely a difference of opinion. But that’s the way that fights get waged.

      Family or not, I try to keep people like your aunt at arm’s length. Good luck with that.

      Like

  5. “about” not and

    WP should have an edit button cos I never proof-read.

    Like

  6. Extreme positions seem to drive us away from decision making toward screaming at each other. It is a shame.

    Like

    1. We are fear-based creatures.

      Like

Bringeth forth thy pith and vinegar